What is the National Flood Insurance Program?

The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) was created by Congress in 1968 to protect lives and property and to reduce the financial burden of providing disaster assistance. The NFIP is administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Nationwide, over 20,500 communities participate in the NFIP - almost 460 of Florida counties, cities and towns participate. The NFIP is based on a mutual agreement between the Federal Government and communities. Communities that participate agree to regulate floodplain development according to certain criteria and standards. That partnership involves flood hazard maps, flood insurance, and regulations. Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM) are used to identify flood risk, to regulate flood hazard areas and to determine where flood insurance is required. You can use your computer to visit the FEMA Flood Map Service Center. You can view current and historical flood maps online or download digital scans of maps.

Show All Answers

1. What is Floodplain Management?
2. Why Do We Regulate the Floodplain?
3. What is the National Flood Insurance Program?
4. Is Your Building Site Higher than the BFE?
5. Is it easy and low-cost to provide some flood protection for older homes
6. What About Disaster Grants and Loans?
7. What Are the Common Acronyms?